polvo magazine

essays, reviews, poetry, short stories, everyday observations, contemporary art

Inge Hoonte

leave a comment »

From the series “Of Course I Dreamed About You”
Thursday, March 13, 2008

I got a phone call. On the display screen it read “Jean Alexander Frater.” I knew she might be coming to town, so I cheerfully pressed the green button in the thought we might be able to meet up. It was her mom. Calling from Jean’s phone. Jean was missing. Took her twin babies with her. She was supposed to meet up with her mom, but never showed up. Left everything behind, except her laptop and babies. Jean’s mom was hoping I knew where she was, knew something or anything, but I didn’t.

I walked the streets of a small village while talking to Jean’s mom on the phone. There were playing, screaming kids all around me, coming out of school, being picked up by their parents who were yelling after them to be careful and “how was your day.” I got home, went inside and looked through the giant glass windows into the small front yard with a willow tree in it. A woman with a young blond girl in a pink summer jacket walked through our yard, right in front of the window, over the meticulously laid out small volcanic rocks. The sound of their feet on the rocks. Kgg kgg kgg kgg kgg kgg. They walked back the same way they came and on to their own house.

I walked away from the window and was now downtown, outside on the sidewalk, surrounded by high glass buildings. Again groups of loud kids around me, which made it hard to hear Jean’s mom on the phone. I asked her if she happened to be staying at the Hilton Hotel, that I just walked into, but she wasn’t. I walked all the way to the back of the lobby to get away from the noise, where two receptionists were sitting behind a counter. I tried to hide from them that I was crying and crammed myself between the counter and the back wall that was covered with light brown mirrored tiles.

I pressed the phone against my ear so I could hear Jean’s mom better. There were long pauses in the conversation in which we were either crying or thinking about what to do, how to find her. She told me it had been strange for a while now, for example that when Jean’s computer starts up it is heavily password protected and installs all new programs and no data gets stored on the computer itself, leaving no traces. She could be anywhere.

Inge Hoonte is a Dutch multi-disciplinary artist based in Brooklyn, NY. Her work has been shown and aired internationally at Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki, Finland; Saskatchewan Communications Network, Canada; Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, MessHall, Heaven Gallery, Athenaeum Theatre, Columbia College A+D Gallery, WLUW and NPR, Chicago; Whitebox Benefit, New York; Neighborhood Public Radio, San Francisco; TENT., Rotterdam; Cinema Plaza Futura, Eindhoven and Lux Cinemariënburg, Nijmegen, The Netherlands.

Since 2007 she has been performing with Shua Group at various locations in New York. In 2008 her work will be included in the Whitney Biennial through Neighborhood Public Radio, and in a satellite show of the New Orleans Biennial. She received her MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, with a BFA in Visual Art and Public Space from the School of the Arts Arnhem, the Netherlands. http://www.ingehoonte.com

Written by admin

February 25, 2010 at 3:57 am

Leave a Reply

